October 2023

Andy Boyle and Daryl Horgan in provisional squad for the World Cup European Qualifier

[ A+ ] /[ A- ]

Republic of Ireland manager Martin O’Neill has named Dundalk duo Andy Boyle and Daryl Horgan in his provisional squad for the World Cup European Qualifier against Austria on November 12.

Boyle and Horgan have been key members of the Dundalk side that retained the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division, as well as impressing in the Europa League.

Newcastle goalkeeper Rob Elliot, Brentford midfielder Alan Judge and Southampton striker Shane Long have been ruled out of the game in Vienna through injury, however, while a number of other players will be assessed by the Irish medical staff.

Bradford goalkeeper Colin Doyle is also included, nine years after her won his only senior cap against Ecuador.

The Ireland squad will train at the FAI National Training Centre before departing for Austria on November 10.

Martin O’Neill’s side are joint-top of Group D after three games played and will face an Austria side who qualified for Euro 2016, although they sit two places and three points behind Ireland in the standings.

Republic of Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers – Darren Randolph (West Ham), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Colin Doyle (Bradford), Ian Lawlor (Manchester City), Danny Rogers (Falkirk)

Defenders – Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie, Richard Keogh, Alex Pearce (Derby), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle), Paul McShane (Reading), Shane Duffy (Brighton), Andy Boyle (Dundalk), Stephen Ward (Burnley)

Midfielders – Aiden McGeady (Preston), James McClean (West Brom), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), James McCarthy (Everton), Stephen Quinn (Reading), Glenn Whelan (Stoke), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds), David Meyler (Hull), Stephen Gleeson (Birmingham), Conor Hourihane (Barnsley), Robbie Brady, Wes Hoolahan (Norwich), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Jonathan Hayes (Aberdeen), Daryl Horgan (Dundalk)

Forwards – Jonathan Walters (Stoke), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), David McGoldrick (Ipswich)